Seitenarchiv

I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T-Shirt!

Wednesday, 9. December 2009 7:00

Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

As we are THE major border adventure in Central America, der Darien Gap, the border crossing by land from Panama to Colombia via several days of trekking through the jungle road- and unnamed drug barons, Smugglers and guerrillas inhabited no-man's far too sensitive and the flight was again far too vile, We have begun some time ago decided to take the sea route. A good decision. This sailing trip from Panama to Colombia, and vice versa are the hammer! Whoever has the chance to do so, this should not miss. Important here is, a bit of time in Panama City or Vorneweg. Cartagena seek out and bring the boat good. From the big saver on fast catamarans and classic sailing from 20 until 80 Foot is a lot here. The actual variations are rather dual: Either a lot of comfort or much Segelspass. We opted for the latter - more on that later.
First, the end. Almost all captains, before have to go that route, give the larger hostels in their schedule and how many people they want to take. Cost is about. 300-380US $ plus $ 25us placement fee for the hostel. Usually, the hostel also has information such as size, Equipment and other reviews are available for each ship. The hostel is announced, they go to the ship and hopes that his choice is full at the specified time the boat, otherwise waiting is announced. If everything goes as planned, it goes off at five in the morning in a jeep (25US$). Across the country, high in the North-East, in die autonome Kuna Yala Region (6US$ Admission Fee). There is a Kuna boat continues on to the river mouth in which lie the last foothills of San Blas. The Kuna are the Native people with the greatest political autonomy in Latin America. With its own micro-economic system, own language and quasi-legal. For about two centuries, they constantly live in the east of Panama. To their own ververwalteten area includes the holiday paradise of San Blas, an island of the archipelago 400 Islands along the Caribbean coast of Panama includes, of which only 40 Islands with a total 32.000 Kuna are inhabited. Here you meet on the boat, Captain and residual "team" to spend first few days at varying Islands. It will drink to your heart, from what they have eaten all the best offer to the sea and the Kuna (zB. 7 Lobster for $ 12US and 3 Beer), swum, gesonnt, geschillt and snorkeled, drank and slept on the boat. If you are looking concentrated Robinson Crusoe feeling in the Caribbean without a flood of tourists will find it right here, if you clear with the hygienic conditions is. The islands are all picture perfect. Sometimes just big enough for a house and 5 Surrounded by palm trees with powder-white sand and lapped by warm turquoise to dark green Caribbean sea. You can rent fully Frequently - Bacardi Party anyone? Sandbars, Coral reefs continue to invite you to linger and explore. Yes, you can even surf here and there, in good surf. The big issue here is not always fish. The nighttime, there were smaller trips by canoe to the beach and other boats. All in all, very very cool!
After the paperwork was done with the Passport, it was serious. The captain decides id.R. when to start their trip to Sea and Colombia, what happened to us after about two and a half days. Once again, eat plenty and well and a big discussion of the situation and the mediation of the High Seas rules indicate, us what the next good 50 Hours ahead is. Here are some highlights: It is non-stop sailing, Drinking water is now equal in value to gold and should not be used for washing hands and the same, a draft for brushing - a maximum of. A shower, it was not already on board. All things so please pack and lash down, that one size should ideally be kept at the baggage. Simply the best clothes no longer go. Who are seasick had bad luck and should be a place where he would look at the bow to - his head outside the boat, please. Everyone needs to tackle with, the women. If even cry, "" will, then that is never meant unkindly… I could hardly wait!
The point is, if one really nice angeluvt lying diagonally in the wind, seven and a little more nodes - was more wind- and / or seegangsbedingt not possible - the possibility has to take over the helm and cut through the waves… And I mean really play for looong hours, without motor, All hands below deck sleeping or moaning and cursing like, only you, the Capitan and the GPS, you give full throttle Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt! That was just very big Wimbeldon Tennis. Whoever mastered Spanish - Our Captain was flying the Colombian flag Pannamas - was a clear advantage. The 1 & #215;1 of sailing in the practice-intensive course was then included in the price. For me, one of the experience that I definitely need to repeat. Although I had the last 24 Hours a terrible pain in the neck (this next week in Cartagena Article more), But with so much adrenaline in the blood that was not important anymore. After ca. 48 Hours we had after a bad storm certainly achieved quite finished but surely the Port of Cartagena. For an entry's Log Book: New long-term goal in life - I want my own sailboat!

Some pictures of this trip will follow in the next few days. On the high seas was the snap of no longer possible Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

  • Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

Topic: Heading | Comments (0) | Author: Ahmed

Seitenarchiv

I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T-Shirt!

Mittwoch, 9. Dezember 2009 7:00

Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

Da uns DAS große Grenzabenteuer Zentralamerikas, der Darién Gap, der Grenzübergang auf dem Landweg von Panama nach Kolumbien via mehrtägigem Dschungeltrekking durch straßen- und namenloses von Drogenbaronen, Schmugglern und Guerilleros bewohntes Niemandsland viel zu heikel und der Flug wiederum viel zu schnöde war, haben wir schon vor einiger Zeit beschlossen den Seeweg zu nehmen. Eine gute Entscheidung. Diese Segeltrips von Panama nach Kolumbien und vice versa sind der Hammer! Wer auch immer  die Chance hat dies zu tun, sollte dies auf keinen Fall verpassen. Wichtig hierbei ist, ein wenig Zeit vorneweg in Panama City bzw. Cartagena mitzubringen und sich das Boot gut auszusuchen. Vom großen Schoner über schnelle Katamarane und klassische Segler von 20 bis 80 Fuß ist einiges dabei. Die tatsächlichen Variationen sind jedoch recht dual: Entweder viel Komfort oder viel Segelspass. Wir haben uns für letzteres entschieden – mehr dazu später.
Zunächst zum Ablauf. Fast alle Kapitäne, die vor haben diese Strecke zu fahren, geben den größeren Hostels ihren Terminplan an und wie viel Leute sie mitnehmen möchten. Die Kosten liegen bei ca. 300-380US$ plus 25US$ Vermittlungsgebühr für das Hostel. Meist hat das Hostel auch Informationen wie Größe, Ausstattung und Erfahrungsberichte Anderer zum jeweiligen Schiff vorliegen. Im Hostel meldet man sich also für das Schiff seiner Wahl an und hofft das zum angegebenen Zeitpunkt der Kahn voll ist, sonst ist Warten angesagt. Läuft alles wie geplant geht es morgens um fünf mit einem Jeep los (25US$). Quer durch’s Land, hoch in den Nord-Osten, in die autonome Kuna Yala Region (6US$ Admission Fee). Dort geht es mit einem Kuna Boot weiter bis zur Flussmündung in denen die letzten San Blás Ausläufer liegen. Die Kunas sind der Ureinwohnerstamm mit der größten politischen Autonomie in Lateinamerika. Mit eigenem ökonomischen Mikrosystem, eigener Sprache und quasi-Rechtssystem. Seit etwa zwei Jahrhunderten leben sie ständig im Osten Panamas. Zu ihrem selbst ververwalteten Gebiet zählt auch das Urlaubsparadies San Blás, das eine Inselarchipel von 400 Inseln entlang Panamas Karibikküste umfasst, von denen nur 40 Inseln mit insgesamt 32.000 Kunas bewohnt sind. Hier trifft man auf Boot, Kapitän und Rest-“Mannschaft“ um zunächst einige Tage auf wechselnden Inseln zu verbringen. Es wird nach Herzenslust getrunken, vom aller Feinsten gegessen was das Meer und die Kunas zu bieten haben (z.B. 7 Hummer für 12US$ und 3 Bier), geschwommen, gesonnt, geschillt und geschnorchelt, gesoffen und auf dem Boot geschlafen. Wer konzentriertes Robinson Crusoe Feeling in der Karibik ohne Touristenflut sucht wird genau hier fündig, wenn man mit den hygienischen Bedingungen klar kommt. Die Inseln sind allesamt picture perfect. Teilweise gerade groß genug für ein Haus und 5 Palmen mit puder-weißem Sandstrand umgeben und umspült von türkis bis dunkelgrünem warmen karibischem Meer. Sie lassen sich haeufig komplett mieten - Bacardi Party anyone? Sandbänke, Korallenriffe laden weiterhin zum entdecken und verweilen ein. Ja sogar surfen kann man hier und da bei guter Brandung. Das große Thema hier ist jedoch stets Fischen. Des nächtens gab es kleinere Ausflüge mit dem Paddelboot zum Strand und zu anderen Booten. Alles in allem sehr sehr cool!
Nach dem der Papierkram mit dem Passport erledigt war wurde es ernst. Der Kapitän entscheidet id.R. wann es los geht Richtung Hochsee und Kolumbien, was bei uns nach etwa zweieinhalb Tagen geschah. Noch einmal ausgiebig und gut speisen mit anschließender großer Lagebesprechung und  dem Vermitteln der Hochseeregeln deuten an, was uns die nächsten guten 50 Stunden bevor steht. Hier ein kleiner Auszug: Es wird non stop gesegelt, Trinkwasser ist von nun an Gold gleich im Wert und darf nicht für Händewaschen und der gleichen benutzt werden, einen Schluck für das Zähneputzen – höchstens. Eine Dusche gab es ohnehin nicht an Bord. Alle Sachen bitte so packen und fest zurren, dass man möglichst nicht mehr groß an das Gepäck muss. Am besten einfach die Klamotten nicht mehr wechseln. Wer Seekrank wird hat Pech gehabt und sollte sich einen Platz am Bug suchen um dort zu verweilen – den Kopf bitte außerhalb des Bootes. Jeder muss mit anpacken, auch die Frauen. Wenn mal „geschrien“ wird, dann ist das nie böse gemeint… Ich konnte es kaum erwarten!
Der Punkt ist, wenn man so richtig schön schräg angeluvt im Wind liegend, bei sieben und ein wenig mehr Knoten - mehr war wind- und/oder seegangsbedingt nicht möglich - die Möglichkeit hat das Steuer zu übernehmen und durch die Wellen zu schneiden… Und ich meine richtig übernehmen für laaaange Stunden, ohne Motor, alle Mann unter Deck schlafend oder stöhnend gerne auch fluchend, nur du, der Capitan und das GPS, ihr gebt Vollgas Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt! Das war einfach ganz großes Wimbeldon-Tennis. Wer hier Spanisch beherrschte - unser Capitan war Kolumbianer unter der Flagge Pannamas - war klar im Vorteil. Das 1×1 des Segelns im praxisnahen Intensivkurs war dann im Preis inklusive. Für mich eine der Erfahrungen die ich auf jeden Fall wiederholen muss. Zwar hatte ich die letzten 24 Stunden einen fürchterlichen Schmerz im Nacken (dazu nächste Woche im Cartagena Artikel mehr), aber mit so viel Adrenalin im Blut war das auch nicht mehr wichtig. Nach ca. 48 Stunden hatten wir nach einem schlimmen Sturm jedenfalls ziemlich fertig aber sicher den Hafen Cartagenas erreicht. Einen Eintrag für’s Log Buch: Langfristiges neues Lebensziel - ich will ein eigenes Segelboot!

Einige Bilder dieses Ausflugs folgen in den nächsten Tagen. Auf hoher See war das mit dem Knipsen allerdings nicht mehr möglich Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

  • Panama Kolumbien  I sailed the caribbean! And all I got was… not even a lousy T Shirt!

Thema: Unterwegs | Kommentare (0) | Autor: Ahmed